Let’s get some miles in today!

Training Day 1

It’s Day 1 of training!

Training started today. The weather was simply gorgeous this morning in Washington, D.C., which made it much easier to lace up and hit the pavement. Today’s distance was 4 miles, easy enough for me since I’m a regular runner. Once those long runs begin, you may find I’m not as positive!

Think being a city dweller sucks when you’re training for a marathon? My only options are busy streets crowded with people, right? Wrong.

Lucky for me that I have easy access to Rock Creek Park. It’s about 4.5 square miles of paradise in the middle of the nation’s capital. There’s a horse stable, a nature center, lots of picnic areas, and (you guessed it) Rock Creek. In the summers, you’ll find a lot of runners and cyclists exercising here because it’s at least 10 degrees cooler than it’s concrete counterpart.

Here are a few pictures from my run this morning:

Take your pick: asphalt or sandy dirt today?

Take your pick: asphalt or sandy dirt today?

And you thought Washington, D.C., was nothing but a bunch of monuments!

Rock Creek

For those of you who know me, you’ll recall that I swore I would never run a marathon. Ever. What changed? Well, my cousin, David, was diagnosed with leukemia about one and a half years ago. He was in treatment for several months, went into remission, and then started having strokes. His most recent visit to the hospital landed him there for 2 months while he underwent tests, chemotherapy, and arsenic treatments. He was released a few days ago (yes!!), but must continue with outpatient treatment for awhile. I’d say that’s a damn good deal rather than staying in the hospital…

After learning of David’s condition, I wanted to do something to help, but I wanted it to be on a larger scale. Organizing a fundraiser event, such as a benefit dinner, wouldn’t do. What about challenging myself to something I knew would be difficult? I toyed with running another half marathon, but I’ve already “been there, done that,” and it simply wasn’t good enough.

How about a marathon? What about training with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training? I liked this idea. After receiving “you can do it” pep talks from friends and family, I signed up for the Marine Corps Marathon on October 26 in D.C., and even have my own fundraising page!

I panicked. Oh my god. What the hell did I just sign up for? I can’t run a marathon!

Then it hit me: If David could fight leukemia and endure chemo treatments every day, then my completing 26.2 miles was sort of a joke. His endurance and strength would be my fuel to the finish line.

And so the journey begins.

Training: Day 1

Leave a Reply

