It’s All about Perspective

Perspective. It varies. This weekend, I got big dose of it.

During my Saturday morning run, I ran past a church near West End. Its front lawn was peppered with multicolored t-shirts on stakes. Each t-shirt had a name (or if unknown, “anonymous”) and a date. I wasn’t sure what the display was about, so I walked up to the church to read a sign sitting in the walkway.

It read: “Memorial to victims of gun violence in the greater Washington, D.C., area in 2013.”

Once I read that, those t-shirts became a lot more powerful. Each represented a person who lost their life.

Here’s some perspective for you:

Image

Image

I’m fortunate to live in a part of the city that is safe; others are not. This memorial made me think a lot more about my adopted city, its safety, and its residents. I assumed most of these deaths were senseless and I wondered about the victims. Wrong place at the wrong time? Accident? Suicide? Gang-related? Pretty heavy stuff at 8 a.m.

I certainly had a lot to think about while I logged the miles.

Leave a Reply

