Autopilot

Occasionally, a runner experiences “runner’s high” and it’s legit. Everything is in sync — arms, legs, ankles, feet, mind. You’re in autopilot. For me, it feels as if I’m gliding along effortlessly on a plane of ice. I feel weightless, quick, at ease. I’ve only experienced runner’s high three times in my life, and today was number three.

Matty Boy (my hound dog) woke me up at 6:30 a.m. I planned on getting up early, but not that early. He must have sensed that I had a 6-mile run ahead of me today and that I should hit the pavement now since rain was in the forecast. After a shot of espresso and a homemade protein bar, I laced up and headed out.

In a previous post, I talked about how much I love running in the mornings and today was no different. It was a cooler-than-normal morning, overcast, and misty (great conditions in my opinion!). I changed up my route and hopped on Rock Creek Trail heading south. There were lots of runners out today and it charged up my competitiveness. I’m that girl — totally racing you. All. The. Time.

The trail took me past the Kennedy Center where Disney’s The Lion King musical is currently playing. I remember seeing that show on Broadway and the costumes blew me away!

It also took me to the Memorial Bridge, a landmark that inspires me yet discourages me at the same time. It’s inspiring because at the end is Arlington National Cemetery; it’s discouraging because I’ve run over this bridge twice in Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathons and it’s where I’ve always felt my weakest.

I did my best to stay positive (Do It For David!) and after crossing the bridge, rounded the corner to get on Mt. Vernon Trail, which is in Virginia. This trail is familiar because I run it often during my lunch hour.

I mentioned runner’s high earlier and this is where I realized that I wasn’t thinking — my body was just doing. At this point, I was at about 4.5 miles and couldn’t believe how great I felt. I was averaging 8:37 min/mile and felt strong and energized. Even so, I had to stop to take pictures for you, my readers.

Here's a view of the Kennedy Center from Mt. Vernon Trail. The building behind it is The Watergate.

Here’s a view of the Kennedy Center from Mt. Vernon Trail. The building behind it (to its left) is The Watergate.

Here's the backside of the Lincoln Memorial and a partial view of the Washington Monument. That bridge is the one I ran across!

Here’s the backside of the Lincoln Memorial and a partial view of the Washington Monument. That bridge is the one I ran across!

By the time I got to mile 5, it started pouring. I welcomed it though; I was hot.

Double digit miles don’t start until July 12, so we’ll see how strong I feel once that begins! You know what they say: “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

 

Leave a Reply

