Uptown, Uphill

Hill running sucks. There. I said it.

Yesterday morning’s training was tough. The LLS / TNT schedule I’m following called for 4 miles of hills yesterday. Obviously, I didn’t run 4 miles of all hills. Instead, I did some interval hill training on a course that undulated with hilly terrain.

The run to Rock Creek Park is all uphill, but super pretty. Here’s what the park looked like yesterday morning. Bet you didn’t realize how green D.C. could be, huh?

The tree tops of Rock Creek Park.

The tree tops of Rock Creek Park.

My interval training happened on this hill (from the crosswalk at the bottom to its curvy top):

From the bottom of the hill to it's curve up to the top, you gain 325 feet.

From the bottom of the hill to it’s curve up to the top, you gain 325 feet.

The hill doesn’t look like much from here, but you gain about 325 feet in about a quarter-mile. I’ve run this hill several times  during the Rock ‘n Roll Half-Marathons and no matter how many times I’ve run it, it remains a bitch. Needless to say, after running up and down this thing three times, my quads needed a break so I continued my course through the park, into the National Zoo, and then back up Bitch Hill. Indeed it was tough, but I felt great afterward knowing that I conquered such a challenging workout.

As Tuesday is my doubling up day, I can tell you that barre class was challenging and frustrating at times. My quads were like, “Yeah, girl. This isn’t working out. We’re breaking up.” Needless to say, I’m relieved that today is my “off” day.

So, in other news…

I’m visiting cousin David and his family this weekend! He finishes up condensed chemo treatments today and I can’t wait to see him on Saturday. Pictures and updates to follow!

Leave a Reply

