Whirlwind Weekend: Beach, parties, family

WOW. I still feel like I’m moving at the speed of light after this weekend.

As mentioned in a post last week, I had plans to visit my family in New Jersey this past weekend. In three days, I managed to fit in two beach days, an 8-mile run, a reunion with two high school friends I haven’t seen in 13 years, a birthday celebration for my dad, and got together with cousin David’s family. How I packed this into 72 hours is beyond me.

First things first: THE BEACH! Here are some pics from the beautiful Jersey Shore:

Yes, this is New Jersey.

Yes, this is New Jersey.

Here's me and big bro, Michael, enjoying the gorgeous weather.

Here’s me and big bro, Michael, enjoying the gorgeous weather.

Okay, now onto my training. I ran a solid 8 miles Saturday morning. Half was on asphalt and the other half was on the boardwalk (much kinder on the knees). Here’s what I looked like at 7:45 a.m. before starting the journey. Believe me, I looked like hell afterward…and no, I don’t have a picture of that!

The starting point: West Long Branch, my old college stomping ground.

The starting point: West Long Branch, my old college stomping ground.

I finished in 1:13 and felt great at the end, minus the fact that I was dehydrated. Unfortunately, I ran out of water just after I completed mile 5. NOTE TO SELF: Carry more water.

Saturday was a busy day. After eating my weight in bacon for breakfast, I treated my dad to a seafood birthday lunch and gave him his gifts: a Dammit Doll and flying wish paper (thanks Ali!). What more could a guy want, right?!

That evening my family got together with my cousin David’s family for a cookout. My Aunt Mary (David’s mom) always hosts and provides enough food to feed half of Monmouth County, so I find it my responsibility to eat as much as humanly possible. She undoubtedly makes the best deviled eggs (I ate six), macaroni salad, baked ziti, and chocolately goodness bars (a highly addictive dessert — just ask any of my girlfriends).

It was fantastic to see David. He’s hanging in there! He finished up his chemo on June 24 and has the next 2 weeks off from treatments. He’ll have his bone marrow biopsy back at that time and the results will determine his next step of action. I learned that his form of leukemia is highly treatable and curable. It’ll be a tough battle, but his wife, daughter, and mother have enough strength to keep him focused and positive.

Here’s a great picture of the cousins (David is the 6’6″ guy on the left!):

Here's the cousins! From left: David, Courtney (his daughter), me, my nephew Ezra, and big bro Michael (Ezra's dad).

The cousins! From left: David, Courtney (his daughter), me, my nephew Ezra, and big bro Michael (Ezra’s dad).

Getting all of us together this weekend refilled my tank. Family tends to do that for me. I can’t wait to see everyone again come race day!

More fuel, more energy, more training. Let’s do this!!

One thought on “Whirlwind Weekend: Beach, parties, family

  1. Pingback: Meh. Tuesday Morning. | Do It For David

Leave a Reply

