Tuesday Redemption (with Recipes)!

All it took was a new pair of ToeSox, a barre 3 class, and a little time in the kitchen to refocus my attitude. Seriously people, how can one NOT smile after donning a pair of lilac toe socks?! (I did a happy dance shortly after this pic was taken.)

Not only are ToeSox adorable, but they hide a past-its-prime pedicure!

Not only are ToeSox adorable, but they hide a past-its-prime pedicure!

Here’s the studio where I practiced tonight. Again, how could I NOT snap out of my funk practicing in an open space with wood beams, exposed brick, and a view of the beautiful Georgetown waterfront?

Studio B, for smaller classes. The Main Studio, for bigger classes, is across the hall.

Studio B, for smaller classes. The Main Studio, for bigger classes, is across the hall.

After class, I felt reenergized and fresh! As mentioned earlier today, I had plans to try two new recipes tonight. Here’s how they turned out.

For dinner, I whipped up a pasta recipe I found on Foodie Crush. It was very simple, but I made some alterations. I used less olive oil, salt, and pasta, and more spinach and basil. I was happy with the ratio of veggies to pasta, but may add some red pepper flakes next time. I like a little heat! If you try this recipe out, do not skip the ricotta. It’s essential! Oh the creaminess! I used whole milk ricotta, but I bet part-skim would work just fine too.

Yummy! Pasta tossed with garlic, tomatoes, spinach, and basil. The dollop of ricotta is key!

Yummy! Pasta tossed with garlic, tomatoes, spinach, and basil. The dollop of ricotta is key!

I’ve been trying new protein ball/bar recipes lately, and still can’t find one that I’m loving. The ones I made tonight could be fantastic, but I’d need to double the recipe and add a touch more sweetness. I based these protein balls off a recipe from Vegan Family Recipes, a food blog. I made quite a few changes.

Instead of using regular dates, I used 6 Medjool dates. I also used raw cacao powder instead of cocoa powder. I don’t like protein powders (they all taste artificial to me…even the plant-based ones) so I used Green Superfood powder instead. I subbed amber agave nectar for the maple syrup too.

Vegan peanut protein balls.

Vegan peanut protein balls.

In the end, these were tasty, but definitely needed a bit more sweetness. Also, the recipe claims 10 servings. My recipe didn’t yield nearly that much, maybe 5 servings max (and they’re tiny). I’ll try these again over the long weekend. I may add some unsweetened coconut flakes.

Thanks for hanging in there with me today!

Leave a Reply

