10 Miles! Can I Get Ten $10 Donations?!

Today I hit double digits — 10 miles!

Kickin' ass and takin' numbers!

Kickin’ ass and takin’ numbers!

It was a hard run. Even at 7:30 a.m., the humidity was already at 70% (yuck). Many of you know that I’ve been struggling with staying properly hydrated, and to help with that, I bought a new fuel belt. Now I can carry 20 ounces of fluid instead of 8 ounces. What a difference it made today!

My new Nathan fuel belt can carry 20 ounces of fluid. I filled one with water and the other with Gatorade.

I filled one flask with water and the other with Gatorade.

My TNT coaches send weekly emails, and this week’s focused on the dangers of over-hydrating. (Yes, there is such a thing.) The key to avoiding that is to not just drink plain water — you can actually drown yourself! You have to also incorporate electrolytes, sodium, and sugar. I filled up today with water and Gatorade and noticed a big difference in how my body felt. Thank you TNT coaches!

Today’s 10-miler took me to Haines Point / East Potomac Park, a peninsula-like wedge that juts out into the Potomac River. It’s also part of the Marine Corps Marathon course and rumored to be the toughest stretch. Well, it’s a good thing I experienced it today because yeah, it downright sucks. It’s a long, boring stretch. It’s windy. Oh, and it’s got lots of those jerk cyclists that travel in packs and race like it’s the Tour de France. Needless to say, I was not in my prime the latter half of this run. I was really hot and really tired, but I finished. Here’s two cool things I saw along the way:

The Lee Mansion at Arlington National Cemetery

Lee Mansion

Poor quality, but how cool, right? Can you imagine being General Lee and looking out from that vantage point during the Civil War?

An airplane landing at Reagan National Airport

Look closely. The plane is to the right and even with the apartment buildings.

Look closely. The plane is to the right and even with the apartment buildings.

So now that I’ve conquered 10 miles, I’m going to ask something of you, my readers. Can I get ten people to donate $10? I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but if ten people donate just $10, that’s $100 total going toward finding a cure for blood cancer. This might mean skipping a few lattes next week, but what a difference you can make in the life of those battling leukemia, such as my cousin David.

P.S. Cousin David Update: He ended up back in the hospital this week totally unexpected. I don’t have a lot of details other than he’s starting physical therapy soon to get some of his fluidity and movement back. My cousin Lori reminded me that we’re all working on our strength training — so when life gets challenging, look it in the eyes and say, “You’re no match for me!” I think it’s best if you use your best Wolverine or Hulk voice. It’s much more intimidating.

Leave a Reply

