Today I received an unexpected piece of snail mail (and no, not an unexpected bill). It was a letter from a childhood friend. We haven’t seen each other in quite some time, but we keep in touch through Facebook, and every year she gives a generous donation toward my fundraising efforts for the National Eating Disorders Association. Even though Vicki and I have known each other for a very long time, I didn’t expect an encouraging note from her to get slipped through the mail slot. But that’s what happened today.

Inside the envelope was a seashell-shaped card — perhaps a reminder of my Jersey Shore roots. Vicki wrote that she was working on a project, 30 Things before 30 (she turns 30 next June). One of the things on her list was to send a friend a random gift either “just because” or “to help them”. The letter assured me that I would receive a package soon; she hoped it would help me with my marathon training and future races.

She encouraged me to keep my head up when the training got tough and that she was rooting for me back home in New Jersey. Wow. I didn’t know anyone cared that much. A handwritten letter and a gift on the way?

To my dear friend Vicki, thank you. It’s hard to find the words to express how much your letter touched me. It could not have arrived at a better time.

26.2 or BUST!

Inside this seashell card was Vicki's thoughtful note of encouragement.

Inside this seashell card was Vicki’s thoughtful note of encouragement.

The Power of the Handwritten Note

Leave a Reply

