Training Doesn’t Stop When You’re on Vacay!

I began a glorious two-week vacation in the Pacific Northwest this past Saturday. First stop: Seattle. The weather has been glorious, the food delicious, and the coffee absolutely divine (and no, I haven’t been to one Starbucks since getting here). In between exploring the city, I’ve had to maintain marathon training. It can’t stop when you’re on vacation, right?

Thanks to my TNT coaches, I was put in touch with TNT Seattle. A few emails later, and I found myself a running buddy for my 16-miler: Sarah. She’s running her first marathon too!

Sarah and I ran 16 miles in West Seattle yesterday!

Sarah and I ran 16 miles in West Seattle yesterday!

What a great experience to meet someone else within TNT that is training for the same reason: to help blood cancer patients. We had so much to talk about because, until yesterday, we were complete strangers! We exchanged several emails leading up to Sunday’s run, and I knew when we met, it wouldn’t be awkward…at all.

Sarah is running the Victoria, B.C., marathon on October 12. Two weeks after her race, I run Marine Corps. It will be fun to exchange running stories leading up to race day, especially with a first time marathoner!

We had a great run through West Seattle. Our path hugged the Puget Sound and we ran past Alki Beach and up into great little neighborhoods nestled along the coast. Here are some pictures from our run:

Seattle Skyline

Apparently, the best view of the city isn't from the Space Needle. It's from the Columbia Building, the tall, black skyscraper in this picture.

Apparently, the best view of the city isn’t from the Space Needle. It’s from the Columbia Building, the tall, black skyscraper in this picture.

The Shoreline

Nothing but a rocky shoreline and mountains in the distance.

Nothing but a rocky shoreline and mountains in the distance.

Mt. Rainier (in the distance, snow-capped)

I learned that Mt. Rainier has its own Twitter account. Why? To let everyone know if it's out or not!

I learned that Mt. Rainier has its own Twitter account. Why? To let everyone know if it’s out or not!

Overall, Sarah and I had a great run! We kept each other motivated, and appreciated the fact that we didn’t have to run 16 miles alone. It was fun running in a new area, too. For me, everything was new — a great distraction to have on distance runs.

I made sure to pack a lacrosse ball to help me roll out since it seemed silly (and a bit difficult) to pack a foam roller. What a difference that made yesterday, along with an ice bath…of course! Sarah loves ice baths too (yay! I’m not the only one!).

It’s easy to stay motivated around here. Seattle is an absolutely gorgeous city. I’m really looking forward to continuing my training, especially since my next long run will be in Vancouver, B.C.!

Oh, and how’s this for cross-training? Tomorrow is a semi-grueling hike at Mt. Rainier. Pics to follow!

Leave a Reply

