Finals

Today was my final group practice. I still can’t believe that I’m running Marine Corps Marathon in eight days.

Before our six mile run, we took a group picture in front of the Iwo Jima / U.S. Marine Corps Memorial, which is basically where the finish line will be. I’m the one in the middle wearing the white hat.

Today was our last group run. Here's the team (coaches in green, except for Coach Chris who is kneeling and wearing purple).

Today was our last group run. Here’s the team (coaches in green, except for Coach Chris who is kneeling and wearing purple).

Today I also gave my Mission Moment. I told the team that the reason I’m running is for David, but that the whole reason I ended up running a marathon is because half-marathons got old to me. (Really? I just typed that?) I told them about the Do It For David campaign, and that if it weren’t for my friends and family, I never would have made it this far or raised so much money (I’m almost to $4,000).

I also received my race day jersey, Inspiration Dinner tickets, and emergency ID tag today. Tomorrow I’ll add some bling to my race day jersey, and I’ll pick up my bib on Friday!

All I need now is my bib!

All I need now is my bib!

After my run, I went home to shower and change for the donation-based barre class my studio was hosting. The class was full, which I wasn’t expecting, and donations topped $250! I still can’t believe that. Hard work pays off.

Another thing that came to an end today was half of the Family 5K Challenge. Michael completed his ninth and final 5K today — the Bricktoberfest 5K in Brick Township, New Jersey — and overall logged 28+ miles for the Do It For David campaign! Great job, Michael!  The Edwards’ Boys did a great job today too! Matthew (grey shirt) won third place overall for the men’s division and Nate won second place in his age group!

Michael and the Edwards' Boys at the finish line of their last 5K!

Michael and the Edwards’ Boys at the finish line of their last 5K! They Did It For David!!

Mom wraps up her half of the Family 5K Challenge tomorrow with Run the Vineyards – Fall Trail 5K in Rio Grande, New Jersey. I think it’s safe to assume that she’ll enjoy a celebratory glass of wine when she finishes! Today she ran the John Entrikin Memorial 5K in Manahawkin, New Jersey, and reached a 5K PR. Great job, Mom!

Mom reached her 5K PR today!

Mom reached her 5K PR today!

It’s hard to believe that this is all winding down, isn’t it? Eight days until the marathon! LET’S DO THIS!

One thought on “Finals

  1. Ok-5:10 and I can’t sleep, so- time to check Chrissy’s blog (not to put me to sleep, rather to inspire me to get up in a few minutes… you’re probably already out for a run, Super Girl 😬

    Countdown to the big day- we are so proud of you , Michael , Aunt Babe… WOW- “Do it for David” has definitely made a mark! Dave is surging with all of the positive vibes coming our way! He’s been home for a week now and his drs at Penn are amazed by how well he is doing. In fact, he said last night that he might feel up to representing the team at LLS Light the Night in Princeton Saturday while you’re running the marathon in DC. Go Team !!!

Leave a Reply

