I Started A Health and Fitness Challenge!

I’ve started running again, but only three miles twice a week. My ankle is still wonky, and I’m getting it checked out again tomorrow morning. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to run the Rock n’ Roll Half-Marathon on March 14 as anticipated. I’ve run it the past two years, so I guess I’ll have to settle as a spectator this year. I do have plans to run the Marine Corps Historic Half in May, provided my ankle is okay.

While I am running again, being active only two days a week doesn’t fly for a fitness nut like me. I take barre 3 and yoga classes regularly, so my only “off” day from exercise is typically a Thursday (uhm, today!). To take it one step further, I signed up for the barre 3 Challenge with my girlfriend Tana. It involves four weeks of clean eating, four 60-minute barre 3 workouts, and at least one 10-minute barre 3 workout per week. I’m currently in the middle of Week 1, and I feel great, though I’m happy today is an “off” day—my body needs a rest.

Here is a picture of Tana and me before class on Monday!

Posing in power leg and ready to get fierce!

Posing in power leg and ready to get fierce!

This challenge is really boosting my confidence and I love the accountability! Below is my Challenge Calendar. Isn’t it funny how motivating stickers can be?! The apple sticker means that I tried the required recipe for the week, the barre 3 symbol sticker means that I went to class, and the 10 sticker means that I completed the required 10-minute workout for the week.

The apple means I tried the required recipe for that week, the barre 3 symbol means I went to class, and the 10 sticker means I completed the required 10-minute workout for the week.

Making progress in Week 1!

I’m looking forward to the results of this challenge. My goal is to get whole-body strong before I start training for the half-marathon in May. As tempting as it may be to go full throttle, I’ve learned to listen to my body. It’s something I’ve been trying to improve since last year’s running-related injury.

For the remainder of the week I’ve got a barre 3 class on Friday, three-mile run on Saturday, and a yoga sesh Sunday evening. What are your plans for the weekend? How do you stay active?

2 thoughts on “I Started A Health and Fitness Challenge!

  1. I’m challenging myself this month too — though not in a way that is quite as organized and structured as you. I’m abstaining from booze and sugar; I adjusted my work schedule to free up some time for the gym; I’m increasing my protein; and I’m working on my mental health by pursuing my new hobby (crochet!). This weekend I think Mike and I will go to a yoga class. Mike loves it and it’s great for his post-surgery PT.

Leave a Reply

