Bye-Bye Sideline

“We are always running for the thrill of it thrill of it,
Always pushing up the hill searching for the thrill of it.”
Empire of the Sun, “Walking on a Dream”

That’s pretty much what I was thinking today on my first run in SEVEN DAYS, which felt more like an eternity than a week. I’d been sidelined since March 16 thanks to an Amtrak passenger who didn’t exercise proper cough etiquette. Today is the first day that I’m not coughing my head off or spewing gobs of snot from my nose. (Sorry, should have warned you about that.)

Credit to my recovery goes to the following: rest, saline nasal spray, Advil, and Zarbee’s Naturals Cough & Sore Throat Relief. Thanks to each and every one of you, I am no longer a congested, zombie-like creature.

Today I ran a combo of speed and hill drills for about 3.25 miles. The weather was perfect: overcast, a light mist, and low 60s. Spring is on its way! My next run will be on Sunday with TNT teammate Aaron. I was supposed to run a 7-miler with him last weekend, but the head cold got the best of me. I hope to log 7 on Sunday; however, stubborn Aaron has runner’s knee so we’ll see how far we go. Our half-marathon is 8 weeks away, so we have plenty of time to add on mileage. We’re actually way ahead of the game!

This weekend is going to be especially fun since my brother is coming down to visit. We’re going to a Wizards game tomorrow night, meeting friends for a beer tasting on Saturday, and we’re running together on Sunday. SPOILER ALERT: We’re recording a Do It For David campaign video this weekend, so stayed tuned for our debut!

Leave a Reply

