My Oh My I’ve Been Delinquent

Dear Readers, 

Please forgive me for my delinquency in keeping this blog current. My only excuse is a busy life. Between switching jobs, training for a half-marathon, traveling, and taking on a new responsibility of Social Mentor for my Team in Training marathon team, I’ve been struggling to keep myself organized and not overwhelmed. It’s been a few weeks, and I think I’m finally settled and able to dedicate time to the blog. So here I am…


FAMILY UPDATES

Over Memorial Day Weekend, I visited family back in New Jersey. Weeks prior, my brother and I coordinated with Lori and Aunt Mary to meet up, and I’m so happy that we did. The last time I saw them was at David’s funeral, so it was nice to see them in a happier setting. We talked about David and laughed a lot. Lori, Courtney, and Aunt Mary are super supportive of my and Michael’s mission, and have made it to several of Michael’s 5Ks. On June 20, I’m running a 5K with Michael in New Jersey, so it will be the first time we’re all together at a race. I can’t wait to share that day with you!

FUNDRAISING UPDATES
Between two fundraising events, May donations reached $807! Currently, I’m only $170-ish away from the $2,000 mark. I’m super pumped up about that! Thanks to all my May donors!

Mirko B.
Sarah and Mike B.
Dorothy D. and Eddy C.
Tana F.
Caitlin G.
Jennifer G.
Scott H.
Lori H.
Java House (local D.C. business)
David and Stacy K.
Linda K.
Shawn K.
Michael M.
Anna N.
Joyce S.
Peggy S.
Jean S.
Jack T.
Sarah Z.

TRAINING UPDATES
As you know, I’d been training with Aaron for a half-marathon. The race was May 17, and Aaron reached a PR, but I didn’t. I finished strong though. We both did. Race day was hot and humid, and we both (admittedly) underestimated the hills. Yeah, I had quad pains for days…

Here are some pictures from race day:

Race Day Sign

Also running in memory of:

This is what kept me going when exhaustion started in…

Proud to finish in under 2 hours!

This Saturday is the first official team training for Marine Corps Marathon, but due to my June schedule, I won’t join the team for a practice until June 27! I’m vacationing next week, have Run Amuck on June 13, and then run my 5K with Michael in NJ on June 20. Insanity, I tell you!

I’m looking forward to meeting the team soon, and can’t wait to start training seriously again. Like last season, I’m still doing yoga twice a week, but one thing I’m doing different is boxing twice a week too. This doubles as cardio and strength training, and I’m curious to see how it affects my performance. Only time will tell, and I’m really excited to get this season started! GO TEAM!!

Leave a Reply

