Training Doesn’t Stop When You Travel

I just returned from a lovely vacation in the Outer Banks, and although I unplugged from my overwhelming-at-times schedule, the one thing that I kept constant was my exercise routine. I managed to fit in three yoga classes at Duck Village Yoga, two training runs, and lots of walks on the beach. (And yes, I indulged. A lot. Wine and donuts anyone?)

Ahhhh... Here I am enjoying a refreshing sauvignon blanc on the deck.

Ahhhh… Here I am enjoying a refreshing sauvignon blanc on the deck.

 

No, I didn't eat all of them! Duck Donuts sure made everyone happy that morning though!

No, I didn’t eat all of them! These tasty treats from Duck Donuts sure made everyone happy. 

Now that I’m back in D.C. and no longer lounging on the beach, I can share a few updates with you.

FUNDRAISING
In May, we raised $807! I think all of May’s donors deserve a shout-out and a huge thank you!

Mirko B.
The Byrnes Family
Dorothy D. and Eddy C.
Tana F.
Caitlin G.
Jennifer G.
Scott H.
Lori H.
D.C.’s Java House
The Kendall Family
Linda K.
Shawn K.
Dr. Michael Moses of Arlington Pain and Rehab
Anna N.
Joyce S.
Peggy S.
Jean S.
Jack T.
Arthur U.
Sarah Z.

MILES RUN
To date, Michael has completed six 5Ks and run 50 miles. See picture below from this weekend’s race. What a good-lookin’ team, huh?

What a great team turnout today! From left we have cousin Lori, Aunt Mary, cousin Courtney, my and Michael's mom Peggy, Michael's son Ezra, Nathan, and Michael

What a great team turnout today! From left we have cousin Lori, Aunt Mary, cousin Courtney, my and Michael’s mom Peggy, Michael’s son Ezra, Nathan Edwards, and Michael. GO TEAM!

 I completed my half-marathon on May 17, and have another race this weekend. I’m participating in Run Amuck, the Marine Corps’ four-mile obstacle course and mud run. One thing’s for sure: I’m going to be a hot, muddy mess when it’s over! As far as mileage, I’ve run just over 100 miles since April 1, which is when the 2015 Do It For David campaign began. Let’s combine my and Michael’s mileage, and we’re already at 150! Can we get a few high-fives for that?!

MONTHLY CONTEST
As far as June fundraising events, we’ve got a special one this month. We’re celebrating all the dads out there — those that are still with us, and those that are not — by holding a fundraising event over Father’s Day Weekend (June 20-21).

Anyone who makes a donation between June 20-21 will be entered to win one of our raffle prizes: a $25 Spafinder Wellness 365 gift card or a $25 Amazon.com gift card. For every $10 you donate, you’ll get one entry into the raffle. So, if you donate $30, you’ll have three chances to win.

LLS donations fund lifesaving research and patient education. Just think about it: your donation could help fund research that saves the life of a father battling blood cancer.

FINAL THOUGHT
I saw a great advertisement recently that I wanted to share with you. The ad featured an athlete looking into the mirror, and the caption read, “Look in the mirror. That’s your competition.” Typically ads don’t resonate with me, but this one did. Do you know why? It reminded me how detrimental a negative mind can be. I’ve been there. When you let your mind take over, you begin to doubt yourself. You allow the words “I can’t” to enter your vocabulary.

Let’s remind ourselves that we are always stronger than we think, even when our minds tell us that we’re not. We have to remember that as long as we’re putting one foot in front of the other, we’re still running. We’re still moving forward. We’re inching closer to the finish line.

Leave a Reply

