Will Run for PB&Js!

I never regret going for a run, and this morning I had to remind myself that when the alarm went off at 4:50 a.m.

It was dark. My bed was comfy. The dog was still asleep.

But today was my first run with the team, and I really wanted to meet my coaches and teammates. After hitting the snooze button a few times, I dragged myself out of bed and got dressed in the dark. It was raining and that definitely put a damper on my enthusiasm. I haphazardly threw items into what I call my “S Pack” — a neon green Patagonia backpack that I bring to Saturday trainings. Inside are survival items: BioFreeze, Gu gels, a Glide stick, flip-flops, my travel-sized Stick, a water bottle with a nuun tab inside, sunscreen, deodorant, an extra t-shirt, and millions of other things that get lost in the many pockets of the S Pack.

I arrived at practice around 6:30 a.m. and talked to Mother Nature for awhile. I told her that if she had to make it rain, she could at least make it rain dollar bills instead. I kindly asked that she keep the rain to a minimum and she listened. The rain tapered shortly after I started my run and it remained overcast — perfect running conditions in my opinion.

Today was an 8-miler through downtown D.C., and Coach Chris kept me company. He is the man who will make me faster this year, and I reminded him of that several times during and after our run. Here we are basking in a runner’s high!

Me and Coach Chris downtown at the National Mall

Me and Coach Chris downtown at the National Mall

So, how did the run go? GREAT! Sub-nines the whole time, and that was at my comfortable pace. I was actually very nervous beforehand because I thought that I may re-aggravate the patella tendinitis I have in my right knee, but I didn’t have any problems. I think it’s due to a combination of 8 days of rest and seeing my chiropractor, Dr. Moses, who (in my opinion) literally works miracles on me. I saw him on Thursday, and he taped up my knee and adjusted my hips. He also taught me a new foam rolling technique for the inside of my knee, which I’ve been doing every day since then. A bit painful, but worth it. I’m learning to “love” foam rolling…

Today’s run sort of kickstarted my Saturday routine again. I forgot how much I loved coming home from practice and realizing that it wasn’t even 9:30 a.m. yet! I felt accomplished. Proud. Like a bad ass.

One of my favorite “rituals” of Saturday trainings (aside from the ice baths!) is the PB&J sandwich I eat when I get home. It’s such a treat for me, and I think about it all the way home.

Nom nom! A PB&J sandwich is basically the best reward ever after a morning run!

Nom nom! A PB&J sandwich is basically the best reward ever after a morning run!

In addition to the sandwich, I also have a fruit smoothie with Vega protein and unsweetened almond milk. Those few moments that I take for myself to just be still and refuel are my favorite of the day. Who knew refueling could be such a luscious experience?

What’s next on today’s agenda? Nothing except enjoying this absolutely beautiful day! I deserve it.

Leave a Reply

