Train Hard, Eat Clean

Happy New Year! I hope everyone’s 2016 is off to a great start!

We’re only 10 days into the new year, and I’ve taken my training and eating habits more seriously than ever. The result? I’m feeling fantastic!

I’m strength training two days a week and following the “Iron Strength for Runners” program. You know it’s a good program when you’re sore for days afterward.

Yes. "Iron Strength for Runners" will kick your butt. No one likes doing 60 burpees to close a workout!

Yes. “Iron Strength for Runners” will kick your butt. No one likes doing 60 burpees to close a workout!

In addition to the strength training, I’ve increased my yoga practice to at least two days a week in the studio and started a home practice.

Here I am setting up for an inversion during a home practice. This stretch feels great in the back of the legs!

Setting up for an inversion during a home practice. This stretch feels great in the back of the legs!

Running (for now) is two times a week. Mileage is still low, but I plan on increasing in the coming weeks. Between the holidays, travel, and a bizarre knee injury endured at a trampoline park, the running portion of my fitness routine has definitely taken a back seat, and no one likes that.

Now, we all know that fitness is only part of staying healthy. Nutrition is absolutely key too. I’ve always been what I consider a healthy eater, but I’ve taken it a step further in 2016. I’m integrating more superfoods into my diet and sticking to a mostly raw and clean diet now. What does this mean? It means limiting or completely cutting out processed foods (bread, pasta, crackers) and dairy (milk, cheese). For personal reasons, I’m also avoiding most soy.

This may sound daunting to many, but it’s all in the prep. Meal planning, meal prep. It takes time, but makes eating clean and healthy so much easier. Below is a sample of what I’d eat in a typical day; I drink water and herbal tea throughout. All food prep is done on Sunday.

6:30 a.m.: Smoothie (see recipes at end of blog post)
8:30 a.m.: One hard-boiled egg, 2 cups roasted veggies (usually sweet potato and broccoli)
10:30 a.m.: One serving Eden Quiet Moon trail mix
12:00-1 p.m.: Usually a homemade veggie/bean/quinoa soup and/or a large salad, 1 cup of fresh fruit salad
3:00 p.m.: 1 cup baby carrots, 5-6 celery sticks
4:30-5 p.m.: 1 apple or a Health Warrior Chia Bar Super Snack
6:30-7:30 p.m.: Usually a meal of lean meat/protein with lots of veggies and a whole grain like quinoa

You all think I’m nuts don’t you? That’s okay. Because I’m only human, I definitely have my “cheat” meals/snacks when I’m in a pinch (running late for work) or just want to treat myself. Why deprive yourself of the things you love, right? (Me? WINE!) I’m not perfect and I’m not one to eat just to fuel. I love food. I love cheese, and lasagna, and pizza, and cocktails, and ice cream, and tiramisu, and, and and… It’s all in moderation.

I want to share two smoothie recipes with you. They’re very simple and healthy, and a great way to start your morning. (They’re also great in-between meals.) I want to be clear that these smoothies will not fill you up; they’re not meal replacements. They’re an easy, quick way to get your superfoods. I hope you enjoy them.

Cheers to a healthy 2016!

Both of these recipes are from the cookbook “Superfood Kitchen” by Julie Morris.

Pina Colada Smoothie
Serves 1
1 1/4 cups frozen pineapple
1/4 cup light coconut milk (I like SoDelicious Culinary Coconut Milk — Asian food aisle.)
1 cup water
1 teaspoon freeze-dried wheatgrass powder
Stevia or coconut sugar, optional (I do not use a sweetener.)

Blend together and enjoy!

Pina Colada Smoothie

Pina Colada Smoothie

Superberry Smoothie
Serves 1-2
1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries
1 peeled banana
2 Medjool dates, pitted (I omit because I don’t like dates in smoothies.)
2 TB acai powder
2 TB goji berries
1 1/2 cups cold water
Ice (optional)
Stevia or sweetener of choice, optional (I do not use a sweetener.)

Blend together and enjoy! Oh, and brush your teeth immediately afterward if you can. This smoothie will stain your teeth and tongue like red wine does.

Superberry Smoothie

Superberry Smoothie

Leave a Reply

